Why is reading such a chore?

Honestly, I should’ve started a blog about the multiple uses of books because I’m using them for everything besides reading. The Da Vinci Code was used as a cup holder yesterday and a collection of The Brother’s Grimms Fairytales – among others – is currently being used to press a couple of yellow roses that fell out of my graduation bouquet. I mean books are quite useful for sitting around on bookshelves and coffee tables making people look a little more educated (well depending on what those books are). I used to bring books to school with me so that I could read them but ultimately they just sat there on a shelf or on the side of my desk. With all the books I had to read for homework and papers I had to write, I was pretty much otherwise occupied. 

I really do want to read these books that I said I’d read. It’ll just take me longer than I expected. Patience truly is a virtue because mine is limited. I know The Da Vinci Code will pick up at some point but I get bored too soon. I haven’t opened it in maybe two days to be honest. Reading shouldn’t be this difficult😪. I used to love reading… There was a couple times in my high school chemistry class that I was yelled at for reading instead of paying attention. Well not really yelled at but you get the idea. 

Now reading feels like something I have to make myself do – which I’m trying to do right now. It’s just a lot harder to stay focused than I thought. Of course when it was homework I wanted to figure out how to save myself some time which typically led me basically reading a few passages here there, a summary or nothing at all. Reading for fun on the other hand isn’t something I want to save time on. It’s meant to pass time. Even while writing this blog I could be reading. Instead it’s laying next to my head, keeping the edge of my bed company. 

Totally getting some reading done today. Also here’s a picture of an adorable Mau kitten for your viewing pleasure😊🐯.

 

Leave a comment